SMKTOP > Careers > SMK Global Strategy

SMK Global Strategy

Spans the seas and transcends national borders.
In the global movement of products, and its human resource development,
SMK's fields of activities continue to expand.

Human resource development fundamentals stress the importance of each employee striving toward his or her own personal goals, while the company supports each employee in achieving personal growth. SMK seeks to achieve sustained growth by developing such a company culture and such systems.

With business facilities in 38 sites in 16 areas around the world, SMK hires employees without regard to nationality, age, or gender, believing that the globalization of its workforce is as essential as the global movement of products. Its human resource development programs, implemented through standard training for recruits as well as a wide range of other opportunities, applies the same outlook at all business facilities. Its skills assessment system draws on the same standards worldwide. Japanese, English, and Chinese are used as official languages in venues such as videoconferences linking all facilities together in real-time. Naturally, employees are dispatched to facilities around the world from Japan on assignment or other business travel on a daily basis, and negotiations occur at the global level. SMK's fields of activities, which span the seas and transcend national borders, continue to expand. A pool of human resources capable of operating effectively around the world will power SMK as it advances into the future.

To promote transnational management, SMK took early action in appointing a Director and Executive Vice President from outside Japan (Paul Evans).
Paul Evance
1984Graduated from Trinity College, Dublin
1984Joined SMK
1986Served as Sales Engineer at SMK Europe (Brussels)
1989Relocated to the UK to open the UK Sales Office
1999Appointed President, SMK USA
2006Appointed SMK's first non-Japanese Vice President
2016Appointed SMK's first non-Japanese Director and Executive Vice President

Globalization of Human Resources (as of January, 2022)

A. Employee Composition by Nationality*

By Nationality

*Among employees in Class II and above (general employees in SMK's transnational HR system)

B. Employee Composition by Educational Background (university/graduate school)

by Educational Background

C. Number of Alma Maters (by location)

Number of Alma Maters


[National and public universities]

University of Tokyo, Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Kyoto university, Osaka University, Tsukuba University, Nagoya University, Hokkaido University, Kobe University, Kyushu University, Chiba University, Kanazawa University, Niigata University, University of Miyazaki, Akita International University, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Kobe City University of Foreign Studies, Ochanomizu University, Yokohama National University, Osaka Prefecture University, Yokohama City University, Kyoto Prefectural University, Okayama University, University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Saitama University, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Gunma Prefectural Women's University, University of Toyama, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Shinshu University, Wakayama University, Utsunomiya University, University of Shizuoka, Ehime University, Gunma University, University of Fukui, Yamagata University, Yamaguchi University, Ibaraki University, Tottori University, Akita University, Nagaoka University of Technology, Akita Prefectural University, Muroran Institute of Technology, Nara Institute of Science and Technology

[Private universities]

Keio University, Waseda University, International Christian University, Sophia University, Aoyama Gakuin University, Rikkyo University, Kwansei Gakuin University, Chuo University, Hosei University, Meiji University, Tokyo University of Science, Doshisha University, Ritsumeikan University, Musashi University, Seijo University, Meiji Gakuin University, Gakushuin University, Kansai University, Komazawa University, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Seikei University, Kansai Gaidai University, Kokugakuin University, Senshu University, Chukyo University, Tokyo Keizai University, Kogakuin University, Tsuda College, Toyo University, Aichi University, Kyoto Sangyo University, Kinki University, Konan University, Kokushikan University, Tokyo Woman's Christian University, Tokyo City University, Dokkyo University, Meijo University, Asia University, Kyoritsu Women's University, Sanno University, Tokyo Denki University, Toho University, Fukuoka University, Ryukoku University, Osaka Institute of Technology, Kanagawa University, Chubu University, Tokyo University of Technology, J.F. Oberlin University, Tamagawa University, Chiba Institute of Technology, Tokai University, Nihon University, Takushoku University, Ibaraki Christian University, Kanto Gakuin University, Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Fukui University of Technology, Osaka Electro-Communication University, Shonan Institute of Technology, Tokyo International University


University of Michigan-Ann Arbor、University of California, Los Angeles(UCLA)、The Ohio State University、University of California, Santa Barbara(UCSB)、University of California, Santa Cruz、University of California, Riverside、University of Missouri, Columbia、San Diego State University、University of Phoenix、Ottawa University


Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico、Tecnologico de Monterrey、Instituto Tecnologico de Tijuana、Universidad Autonoma de Baja California、CETYS Universidad


University of Tronto


Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin、Dublin City University


University of Liverpool、Northumbria University


Katholieke Universiteit LEUVEN
Chinese region

[Hong Kong]

The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology、The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


National Taiwan University


Peking University, Harbin Institute of Technology, Beijing Institute of Technology, South China University of Technology, University of Science and Technology Beijing, Sichuan University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Hubei University, Guangxi University, Chongqing University, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, Shanghai Normal University, Xi’an University of Technology, Southwest Jiaotong University, Northwest University, Dalian University of Technology, Zhengzhou University, Northeastern University, Wuhan University of Technology
Rest of Asia


Holy Angel University、University of the East、Mapua Institute of Technology、Polytechnic University of the Philippines


Universiti Putra Malaysia(UPM)、Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia(UKM)、Universiti Teknologi Malaysia(UTM)、Universiti Teknologi MARA、Universiti Utara Malaysia(UUM)


National University of Singapore

[South Korea]

Korea University


Monash University、Curtin University、RMIT University、Queensland University of Technology、University of South Australia